Poetry at Sangam




K. Srilata is a poet, fiction writer and Professor of English at IIT Madras. Her books include four poetry collections: Bookmarking the Oasis (Paperwall/Poetrywala, 2015), Writing Octopus (Authorspress, 2013), Arriving Shortly (Writers Workshop, 2011) and Seablue Child (Brown Critique, 2002), as well as a novel, Table for Four, which was long-listed in 2009 for the Man Asian literary prize and published by Penguin in 2011. She has co-edited two anthologies, The Rapids of a Great River: The Penguin Book of Tamil Poetry and Short Fiction from South India (OUP), and has translated R. Vatsala’s Tamil novel, Once there was a girl (Vattathul), and a translation of women’s writing from the Self-Respect movement, The Other Half of the Coconut: Women Writing Self-Respect History (Zubaan). Forthcoming from Yoda Press is an Indo-Irish collaborative poetry anthology, All the Worlds Between, which she co-edited with Fiona Bolger. Srilata has been writer-in-residence at the University of Stirling, at Sangam House, and at the Yeonhui Art Space in Seoul. She co-curates the Chennai Mathematical Institute (CMI) Arts Initiative along with Madhavan Mukund and K. V. Subrahmanyam.

Poems by K. Srilata

Nestle (for Shital Morjaria)

Being Seventeen, Being Boys

Siamese Twin


The Ones Who Don’t Make Words